Quick Shots of Rome

So apparently a new blog post was long over due.  I have been trying to get myself back into the habit of doing homework but I also have run out of things to write about.  Since I couldn’t think of anything really interesting, I thought I would just share more pictures with you of my travels throughout the year.

Tonight’s post will be from my trip to Roma, Italia last January.  I was there for six days which, for me, is two days too long.  I went through the city in four days but didn’t want to spend the money for a quick day trip to Florence.  Looking back, I’m thinking I should have done it but I guess I’ll have to save it for another time.  Anyways, Rome has many things to offer which means I took a lot of pictures.  Since this is a quick shots post, I will just be posting my favorite pictures that I took just because I’m such a tease.  Please do refer to my albums on Facebook if you want to see all of my adventures during that trip as well as others from previous trips.  Ok so here we go!

This is the famous Roman Colosseum, obviously.  I got to walk past this historic site every morning on my way to the Metro and it never got old.

So I read about this place in the travel book as one of the premier places to have some gelato.  Giolitti’s is known for their wide variety of candies and Italian ice cream.  I seriously wanted to try everything they had there.  My mom and I sat outside and people watched as we enjoyed our gelato.  For me, I wasn’t a huge fan of the espresso flavor because it was too bitter for me.  I’m not a coffee drinker so I expected it to be a bit creamier but that’s how they do things over there.  I guess I’m more of a Haggen Daaz coffee ice cream lover.

This is inside the Pantheon.  Most of my pictures didn’t come out the way I expected but I really liked the way this one turned out.  Sure it’s simple but I just love the design and how the oculus is the only thing that lights this place up.  In a way the oculus reminds me of Iron Man’s energy source thingy on his chest but that’s besides the point.  I find the pattern to be quite eccentric which kind of reflects the style of clothing I tend to gravitate towards.  I wouldn’t mind owning a shirt like that if Ben Sherman made one.

So for any of you who haven’t been to Rome, you’ll find out that many of the main attractions are actually quite close to each other.  A five minute stroll from the Pantheon will take you to Fontana di Trevi.  The Trevi Fountain has been featured in so many movies which makes it a very popular place to visit.  It is the biggest fountain in the city if I’m not mistaken but it’s not as big as I imagined it would be.  You definitely have to fight your way through the crowd to be able to snap a picture in front of it.  Make sure that when you go, you have to take a picture throwing three coins into the fountain.  They say that when you throw a coin into the fountain, you will visit Rome again.

This was taken in front of the Piazza di Spagna, or Spanish Steps.  I love how colorful it is and how all the people in the shot kind of bring the picture to life.  It is quite that hang out spot for tourists because you see so many of them just chillin’ there, resting their weary feet after a long day of exploring the city.  If you happen to be hungry and are in a rush, grab some McDonald’s from the one by the Spanish Steps because that particular one was featured on the Travel Channel as one of the best or unique McDonald’s in the world.  As for me, I didn’t know that when I was there so I didn’t check it out.  Maybe next time.

This was one of the desserts we had.  Of course, me being a chocolate whore, I could not pass on the lava cake.  I remember it being very chocolately and rich so I don’t think I finished the whole thing.  I really loved the spoon I had to eat it with; it’s really unique.  I wonder where I can find some of those here in San Francisco.

Ever wonder what the inside of the Colosseum looks like?  Well look no further because I took plenty of pictures for you to check it out.  I heard that once in a while there would be concerts here but I have no idea where the audience would sit.  It was so cool imagining all the gladiator fights that occurred here and how many people came to watch them get killed or eaten and whatnot.

Right next to the Colosseum is the Roman Forum.  This is where old Rome used to be and it is very interesting to see how the newer city is basically built on higher ground.  I took this shot before heading down the stairs to it and I was in total awe to have the feeling of what it was like to live there thousands of years ago.

So this was taken from the Coppola of Saint Peter’s Basilica in Vatican City.  As my mom and I were walking up, we didn’t realize that we were going that high.  It was quite an amazing view point for us and I am so glad we spent the money to go up.  Seriously the views took my breath away . . . or maybe it was just climbing the 300+ steps up to it. Either way, it was worth it.

I took this while heading out of the Vatican Museum.  Once I started walking down I knew this was a perfect photo op.  I don’t have much to say about it but I just really like how it turned out.

Probably the coolest store I went into in Rome was this woodshop that sold handmade clocks and Pinocchio carvings.  The craftsmanship of these toys were astounding.  There were so many tourists in the store buying these things because they are actually really cool gifts to bring home.  I probably spent a good half hour just looking at all of the clocks on the wall and being entertained by one of the artists carving a new Pinocchio.

This picture is from my last full day in Rome and I made it out to the Pantheon again.  This time I’m caught stuffing my mouth with gelato again.  This time I tried the mango and mixed berries flavors.  My personal favorite of all the flavors I’ve had during that trip was the mango.

Anyways Rome is definitely one of the cities that can’t be passed up.  If you have a chance to go, do it!  It’s getting late and my brain is starting to give out on me so I better end this rather long post soon.  Reminiscing about all the gelato I ate makes me want some coffee ice cream now.

Ok, that’s it.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Travels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

