Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles

So I was in Los Angeles about a week and a half ago and all I did was eat.  One of the places I had to hit up was Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles because there is so much hype behind it I had to see for myself if it was worth it.  I knew I was going to be very critical about the fried chicken because Gus’s Chicken in Memphis has the best friend chicken in my book.  The second best goes to Tyler Florence’s fried chicken at Wayfare Tavern in San Francisco.  Here are the pictures.

I actually liked the chicken better than I expected.  I Yelped the specific Roscoe’s I ate at and they got better ratings than the other branches.  I think it was rightly appointed to give them 4/5 stars.  It was good.  It was moist on the inside and crispy and golden-brown on the outside.  Flavorwise, it had good seasoning, not too salty, but I would have liked it a bit herbier.  I ordered the half chicken and got 5 pieces which was a lot.  Maybe I should have just gotten a fourth but whatever.  The thing that struck me the most was that it was very similar to my mom’s fried chicken.  Somewhere in the back of my mind I was thinking, I spent $15 for chicken my mom could have made at home.  I’m not saying that I shouldn’t have gone, I guess I just expected it to be as mind blowing as Gus’s or Wayfare Tavern.  Well on the positive side, it tastes home made since my mom obviously cooks it the same.

The waffles were good.  It did have a different taste, maybe it was just the butter.  I could tell there was a lot of vanilla in the butter or the waffle batter which makes it unique, at least to me.  The only thing I would have preferred is that I would have liked my waffle crispier.  Other than that, having syrup, butter and chicken on waffles is great.  There was so much food, I had to take it back to the hotel.

Oh and if you were wondering what the other dish was, it was chicken liver.  I know, it sounds gross to me but my mom claimed it was good.  I didn’t have the guts to try it myself but I’ll take her word for it.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

