Nom Nom Truck

When I was in LA two weeks ago, I just had to stop by the Nom Nom Truck which was one of the competitors in Food Network’s Great Food Truck Race.  I really wanted them to win, probably because they were Asian.  They pretty much won each leg until the final two stops where they finished in second place.  I’m not very familiar with Vietnamese food besides Pho so this was going to be my first banh mi, a Vietnamese sandwich.

Since it is a food truck, you have to check their website to see their schedule and what street they will be on.  When I went, they said they would be on W Pico Blvd at 7 pm.  I got there about 6:50 pm and found that they were already open and people were in line. There were about 15 people in front of me and it took about 15 – 20 minutes just to get to the window to oder my food.  I ordered the lemon grass chicken and the honey pork banh mis which cost $5.75 each.  From what I hear, that’s really expensive for a banh mi but I guess I’m paying for the experience.  Anyway, as I was waiting for my banh mis, Misa, the “leader” of the team on the Race showed up and joined the others in taking orders and preparing sandwiches.  She’s really pretty and sweet and a lot of customers were telling her that they should have won.  I really wanted to get a picture of her or with her but she was too busy and I was kind of embarrassed to ask her.

As I collected my sandwiches, I didn’t sit down and eat them right away because I was rushing to get back to the hotel to watch the season premier of Glee.  Because of the wait, the banh mis sat for a while and got the bread a little soggy.  The lemongrass  chicken was good but my mom thinks the lemongrass was too overpowering.  My favorite was the honey pork because it was sweet and had a better flavor than the lemongrass.  Both sandwiches came with pickled radishes, carrots, cilantro, and other good stuff.  Since it was my first banh mi, I couldn’t compare it to anything else so I wouldn’t know if what I got was really good.  At least for me, my taste buds enjoyed it and I think that’s all that matters.  The sandwiches were about 10 inches long so I didn’t have anything to complain about.  Overall I would give it a 4/5.

I apologize for not taking pictures of the sandwiches themselves because I was too busy focusing my attention on Glee.  Sorry.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

