Napa Rose

I really wanted to try this place because it’s been featured on TV so many times.  I know Guy Fieri and Samantha Brown rave about this place and the Yelp reviews were great so I was really excited to try this place out.  Napa Rose is located in the compounds of The Grand Californian Hotel in Disneyland.  I tried making reservations but no one was answering.  I decided to try and walk in but I was afraid that I wasn’t going to get a table. When we got there, their main dining room was full.  Luckily, it was already late so there were seats at the bar and in the lounge where they offer dinner service too.  My mom and I chose a comfy seat in the lounge and enjoyed a wonderful dinner.

The bread was so good!  It came out warm and it was so tasty.  My favorite one was the olive bread with butter.

This was one of the best appetizer samplers I’ve had but did we pay dearly for it.  This alone cost us $45.00 but it does feed two people.  This appetizer consisted of a pheasant roll, a beef roll, dungeness crab tacos, shrimp and cucumber, a corn patty, tuna on a cheese cracker, and some scallops served on a shell.

Since it was my first time eaing here I decided to go with the chef’s prix fixe menu.  It consisted of four dishes that the chef wishes to prepare for the day.  Of course this is was going to be a big splurge and at $90.00 per person, it had better be good.  While sitting down I was on the phone and didn’t even have a chance to look at the menu so see what was going to be prepared.  My mom actually ordered for me so each dish that was going to be presented to me was a surprise.  That I’m not entirely sure of but please do correct me if I am mistaken.

First up was the silk fish.

This was really good.  Actually one of my favorites of the night.  The fish was very flaky yet firm.  What I really appreciated was that the fish wasn’t very fishy tasting.

Second was a little pasta dish with lamb meatballs.

This one felt a little generic to me.  When I say generic I mean that the pasta seemed like it came from a box.  There wasn’t much pasta in the dish and the meatballs were a little salty but the sauce made up for it.  My favorite part of this dish was the sun-dried tomatoes.

The main course was rolled veal with spinach and cheese inside.

The veal was very tender and loved the sauce it came with.  It came mushrooms, asparagus, and onions and some kind of mushy rye bread.  If I were the chef, I would leave out the bread because it did not strike my fancy.  That was the only thing I left on the plate.

Lastly was dessert which was a belgian waffle with whipped cream and strawberry sauce.

In all honesty, the waffle was soggy but the strawberries were nice and sweet with just the right amount of tartness.

This is what the dining room looks like.

Me in front of the the sign.

Overall, it was a very good experience.  Was it worth the price we paid?  No.  I did feel ripped off because I know where to get equally awesome food (and just as fancy) for much less, but I am glad I finally got to try it.  Would I go back?  Sure, for special occations.

My ratings:

Food: 4.45 / 5

Service: 4.75 / 5

Atmosphere: 5 /5

Reminders:

1. If you only go there for dinner, drive to the front of the hotel and have your car valet parked because the restaurant will validate your parking for 5 hours.

2. It seems like a fancy place and you will see a lot of people dressed up, but don’t feel underdressed in jeans and a t-shirt.  Afterall, you’re still in a theme park so it’s not very fussy.

3. If you really plan this, try to get a seat at the chef’s table which is right in front of the kitchen.  It will be very entertaining to watch the cooks do their thing.  If that is not an option, I highly recommend just finding a seat in the lounge area.  I love the idea of having fancy food while lounging on a couch.  It’s more relaxing and enjoyable that way.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food, Travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

