Williams Sonoma Farmer’s Market

Last Wednesday there was a farmer’s market that featured several food vendors near my office.  I was really excited for this because I was going to have a chance to try out a bunch of different things.  They were open from 11:30 – 2:00 so I went there during my lunch hour with my mom and two of my friends at work.  So here’s what I had for lunch:

Round one was a Porchetta sandwich from Piperade.

I have to say that round one was my absolute favorite.  It was a good sized sandwich and the pork was just amazing.  It was very tender and juicy but the best part of it was the skin.  It was very crunchy and chewy at the same time and there was so much texture in the sandwich.  Oh and the kicker?  It was only $5.00.  Truly a steal.  I was shocked there wasn’t a line for this like the other vendors had, but eventually they sold out.  Unfortunately for me because I wanted to buy another one to take back to the office.

Round 2 was dim sum.

I really only wanted to oder the dungeness crab dumplings which was really expensive for only 3 pieces.  Besides that we ordered xiao long bao which had some meat in it as well as some broth.  I actually liked the xiao long bao more than the crab dumplings.

Round 3 was falafel.  The Falafel truck definitely had the longest line.  This was going to be my first time having falafel so I didn’t know what to expect.

Overall, it was good.  I like how it is a filling meal and also very healthy as well.  We put all of the condiments on it so we have a huge mix of flavors and textures.  The only thing I didn’t really care for was the pita bread.  I thought it was kind of cold and too chewy for bread.

Lastly, we had dessert.  We had some soft-serve ice cream and some chocolate truffles.  I didn’t take a picture of the ice cream because my hands were too full because of the other stuff we bought.  The truffles we got from a company called Coracao in Emeryville.  They have some pretty good stuff.

Here’s the group of foodies.

I really love events like this because it gives me a chance to try little things here and there.  The down side is that there is a chance for me to try everything so I tent to spend too much money and over eat.  All I wanted to do after lunch was take a nap and it was too hard to concentrate on work.  I can’t wait until there will be another event like this so I can try the other things I missed out on.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Williams Sonoma Farmer’s Market

  1. Sam says:

    This looks soooo good!! Can’t believe you’ve never had falafel before.

    (Also I’m using Google Reader now, so I will be a more loyal follower =])

    Like

Leave a Reply

