Pisces California Cuisine

So there is a show called Check Please that I subscribe to on iTunes and once this particular podcast downloaded, this was the restaurant that I really wanted to try.

It is located in the Sunset District on Judah and 39th.  I would not have noticed this restaurant if I were just passing by because it was in an area you would not have expected it to be.  I drove passed it the first time around so I had to make a box and look for it again.

So anyway, when I walked in I felt welcomed and was attended to right away.  On the show they talked about the prix fixe menu so I decided to try it out because there were items on the menu that caught my attention.  I went for the $35.00 menu because it had more interesting offerings.

For my appetizer I had a chocolate battered soft shell crab with mozzarella cheese and tomatoes.  At first you think “What!? Chocolate and crab? What!?” (cue head scratching).  Well, the dish actually works.  I think they used cocoa powder and not processed, chocolate bars which I imagined they did.  There was only a hint of chocolate and it wasn’t overly sweet.  What cut the sweetness was the balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing that was on the bottom to dress the salad, mozzarella, and tomatoes.  If you go, I definitely think you should try it.  It’s actually not as weird as it sounds.

The next dish was my main course which was a flat iron steak with french fries fried in duck fat.  Yeah, I said it.  DUCK FAT! I always order my steaks medium rare because I actually want to taste the meat.  I think if you over cook the meat you really miss out on the real flavor of the beef.

So the steak was on a bed of asparagus, string beans, and mushrooms.  I thought the veggies were too salty.  That was the only thing I did not finish on my plate.  Also, the only other criticism I have is that I wish the fries were fried a little longer.  I really love crispy fries.

The people on Check Please also raved about the short ribs so I had my mom try it even though she wanted to try the lobster ravioli.

I have to say I have very high standards for braised short ribs because Naked Lunch really knocks it out of the park.  It was tender but I don’t think they braised or marinated it as long as it really needed.  Naked Lunch braises their beef for three days.  THREE DAYS!  It was tender but the flavor was only in the sauce.  I will give this a try one more time just to see if maybe the chef was having a bad day with the short ribs.

Finally I had a fantastic brownie.  It was chocolately yet not overly sweet.  What really amazed me was that the brownie had a crunchy and crispy top and bottom and chewy in the middle.  I’ve never had it crispy on the bottom before so I fell in love with this.  I’m salivating right now.  My only complaint was that I found the serving size to be a little on the small size.  Actually, it was just the right amount but it was so damn good I wanted more.

So if you ever are in the Sunset and want a nice meal without the exuberant prices, check this place out.  The service was very good because they were easy going and very attentive.  I want to come back to try their happy hour where most of their dishes are only $10.00.

My Ratings:

Food: 4 /5

Sevice: 4.4 / 5

Atmosphere: 3.7 / 5

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

