Cherry Picking – June 2011

Last week we went cherry picking at Pease Ranch in Brentwood, about a 75 minute drive from where I live.  I’ve actually never been cherry picking before.  Actually, I’ve never picked fruit in a field before.  It was a hot day and I was ready for a new experience. Enjoy the pictures!

I guess my family arrived a little bit later than everyone else so even before heading out into the field, we did what RWC Locale does best – eat.  There was a nice, shady picnic area where everyone brought all of their dishes and ate ate ate.

I wanted to get a shot of my mom and dad on a ladder.

Team work.  And I used to think Chevy’s hats were useless.  Now I know what they are for.

My goal of this picture was to show you the depth of the field without standing directly in front of the path.  I don’t know if I achieved that, but it’s a work in progress.

While everyone else ate at the picnic area, I ran into Andre and Isaiah still picking cherries.  Well maybe not just picking them, but playing games by throwing them into the buckets from a distance.

Cherries grew pretty low to the ground so it was easy for kids to reach them.

My mom is still rockin’ the Chevy’s hat.

I was amazed by how bunched up the cherries grew.  I have never seen anything like that before.

I took a picture of this particular cherry because I thought it had a nice blush of red and it was nicely shaped.  After admiring its beauty, I ate it.

While most cherries looked good, some looked too kawawa.

After about an hour of walking from section to section, trying out the different kinds of cherries, we concluded that the Rainiers were our favorite.  Those were located closest to the picnic area so we really didn’t have to go in too far.  Also, I was cherried out because I kept munching on them while walking through the orchard.  For those of you who haven’t gone cherry picking, you can actually eat whatever you pick in the orchard without paying for them.  You only pay for whatever you carry out in your bucket.  Be warned, don’t underestimate the weight of your bucket because you might be shocked by how much it really weighs.  And at $2.00/lb, it’s pretty expensive.  Now I can really appreciate everything that comes from a farm whenever I go grocery shopping.  I barely lasted the hour in the midday sun so I really respect anyone who works in the fields.

Afterwards, we cooled off in the sun and I took a few more pictures.  This one is one of my favorites:

“OH MY GAH!  YOU PICKED HOW MANY CHERRIES? ONE-HUNDRED-MILLION-THOUSAND OF THEM?”

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Church and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

