Final Fantasy VIII Zell, Irvine, and Diabolus Statue

It’s been a long time coming.  Seriously.  It took me around 8 years to complete this set of Final Fantasy VIII statues by Kotobukiya.  I finally won my last statue which was of  Zell, Irvine, and Diabolus last week and it arrived today.  Honestly, I checked eBay everyday to check if this would be up and the last time I saw this auctioned off was in October or November of last year.  Today I felt like a huge part of me is now complete which may sound really shallow of me, but this is a huge accomplishment in my little world of Final Fantasy collectibles.  Enjoy the pictures!

This is the front of the statue.

I was so lucky because I didn’t pay as much as I expected to, maybe because parts of it were chipped, but I really didn’t care.  The damage isn’t that noticeable at all and not as bad as the Selphie, Quistis, and Leviathan statue was.  What I had trouble with was removing the dust on it.  I guess the previous owner displayed it for a while and it really accumulated some dust.  I used a damp paper towel and I was able to clean it up and make it shine a bit.  What I really hated was trying to get into the little nooks and crannies because I kept poking myself from all of the horns and such.  Every few seconds I was like “ouch . . . ow . . . aya!”  I was afraid I was going to break a horn, but luckily nothing else broke.

The back side.

Now to the characters:

The tattoo on Zell’s face is pretty awesome, although it does kind of look like a scar at the same time.

These two pictures on top are the same one.  I couldn’t decide if I liked the black and white or the antique version more, so I put both.

I don’t know why I took so many pictures of Irvine.  It’s probably because he sticks out a lot.

Now on to the main feature of the statue — Diabolus himself.

I love the red and black color scheme.  The sculpt of this is really fantastic.  Not detail was left out.  I really like the veins popping out of his neck.  It add such intensity and character and almost brings the statue to life (which I really don’t want to happen in real life because he’s on my headboard and might attack me in my sleep).

The teeth look so good.

Again, the same picture – one in color and the other in black and white.  I really love pictures in black and white because they just seem very classic.

I am so glad that I have all of the statues now.  I have the entire set on my headboard and it looks so epic!  I seriously sat on my bed and just stared at them for a really long time just admiring the details and the colors of all of the characters.  I really need to take pictures of them all together just because I feel like showing off.  You don’t know how excited I am about this right now.  I don’t know if I am more happy that I completed the set or that I don’t have to constantly keep checking eBay for one of these guys.  I can take a breather from eBay for now as my collection is rounding out nicely for now.

I hope you liked the pictures and keep a lookout for other posts of my collection.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in My Collection and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Final Fantasy VIII Zell, Irvine, and Diabolus Statue

  1. C.S. says:

    Can you please make a photo with all 5 statues on it?

    Like

    • ajsrichantra says:

      Sure. Hopefully I have time to do it tonight. If not, then hopefully by the end of the week. I haven’t had much time to post anything in a while.

      Like

  2. C.S. says:

    Okay, thanks a lot for that. I also want to buy all five statues, but right now I only have the Rinoa / Siren statue. The Leviathan figure is unfortunately extremely rare. I’ve seen only one auction on ebay and I think even you were the buyer. ^ ^

    Like

    • ajsrichantra says:

      Hey! I just posted the request you ask. Thanks a lot for that! I hope you like it and if you have any suggestions to make it better, please let me know!

      Like

  3. C.S. says:

    Finally i buyed a Squall/Bahamut one from ebay. So now i have my second figure. But unfortunately no Leviathan/Diabolus shows up on ebay ='(

    Like

    • ajsrichantra says:

      Congratulations! I know trying to get them all is difficult, but just be patient. You can do it! Keep me posted as you work on your collection!

      Like

  4. darkrose says:

    how much did you pay for this?

    Like

    • ajsrichantra says:

      I think I won this for $325-350. I was really lucky though, I had money in my paypal account from old CDs I sold on ebay and used that to pay for it. only about $70 actually came out of my pocket.

      Like

  5. Tyler says:

    Man I had the entire set and I sold them all 2years ago… wow do I regret that! Any chance you would consider selling them?

    Like

    • ajsrichantra says:

      Hi Tyler, at this moment, no, I’m not considering selling them right now. These are some of my absolute favorites in my collection. But who knows how I’ll feel about them in a few years? LOL

      Like

  6. Tyler says:

    Do you have an email address? Id love to get an email from you one day. Name your price on the Leviathan statue XD… I’m serious 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

