Zip-lining with Ziptrek San Francisco

Do you receive daily deal updates in your email?  You know – Groupon, LivingSocial, SFGate?  If not, then I highly recommend doing so because, even though I’m not interested in most things they offer, you might just find something that strikes your fancy.

It was Stanley who brought the Zip-lining deal to my attention.  The offer was 50% off a single ride on Ziptrek’s line that goes across Justin Herman Plaza at the Embarcaderro, across the street from the Ferry Building.  It was one of those one day sales so you had to buy your voucher that day, but you could use it anytime before September 30th.  Since I pass that plaza everyday on my way to work, I noticed that the zip-line was being put up during the beginning of summer and I’ve always wanted to try it.  I’ve never been zip lining before so I didn’t have any idea how a single ride should cost.  After doing some research, I found out that it cost $29.00 for a single ride!  I didn’t think it was worth $29.00, but since we saw the special pricing, I did think it was worth $14.50.

Anyways, enjoy the pictures I took!

Here is Stanley and Alan getting geared up before the ride.  I think it’s funny that Alan is all dressed up, but that’s because he just came from work.

The Three Musketeers!  I actually think the helmet goes with Alan’s outfit.  He just looks like he’s visiting a construction site.  Oh and I just noticed now, that I’m the only one not wearing glasses.

Now it’s time to climb the tower.

As we made our way up the scaffolding, I was kind of hesitant whenever I walked across the wooden boards.  They were very creaky and didn’t feel very sturdy.

Now we’re waiting in line to get strapped to the cable.

While waiting, I just couldn’t help but take pictures of this gorgeous view I had.  How often do you get to be that high and see views like that if you don’t work in one of those buildings?  Also, the weather was perfect!  What else could you ask for?

In front of us were a group of Italian guys.

Now it was my turn to go down, but before I did, I had to show you what I saw.  The people look so small or like bugs that can be squished.

You know whenever you’re in the air and they say “Don’t look down?”  I did.  Now I wasn’t scared climbing the tower or when I took the pictures from the top.  It only hit me when the staff at the top strapped me into the cord and told me to walk onto the first step.  That’s when I felt nervous and all these thoughts ran through my head: what if she didn’t strap me in properly?  Would I survive the fall?  How many accidents have there been?  Will my guts be splattered all over the ground?  At least I have a really nice view before I plunge to my death.  Then before I could calm down and take a deep breath, I hear a countdown.  5 . . . 4 . . . 3 . . . 2 . . .1!  I was nudged off the step and I flew!

For these pictures, I just had my camera strapped to my neck and I just pointed and shot at anything.  I didn’t know what I was taking a picture of so this is what I ended up with. The reason I did this was because I wanted pictures on, but I still wanted to enjoy the ride at the same time.  About 28 seconds later, it was over, but I had a blast anyways.

Since I went down with someone else, I had to wait for Stanley and Alan to come across.

As Stanley and Alan went down, they decided to videotape each other on the ride. Hopefully I can have then upload the videos to YouTube and I can post it here.

After head back to solid ground, our picture was taken by the photographer and he told us that the pictures were free.  I was like, “Oh how nice! Where do we get the prints?” and then he said that they will be on Facebook.  Just “Like” them and the pictures will be uploaded within a day and just go to their page and tag yourselves.  I think it is so funny how they assume that all of their customers use Facebook.  But it’s probably true.

Check this out: After your first ride, you can choose to ride again for $14.50.  It sounds like a really good deal if your really enjoyed it.  We chose not to go again because we just didn’t want to spend the money.

So that’s the end of our zip-lining adventure so we decided to have lunch at noneother than The House and then we just walked around a bit before deciding to watch The Change-Up at Metreon.

Now I can say that I’ve tried zip-lining, but I think I’m ready for a much longer track perhaps in Santa Cruz or maybe Costa Rica.  If you ever get a chance to do it, I highly recommend it.  I find it to be very exhilarating and a great stress reliever.  I was just cheering my whole way down and definitely attracted some attention to the sky.  Also, I think I’m ready to try something even more dangerous like bungee jumping or sky diving, but it’s not going to be anytime soon.

I hoped you liked reading about my experience as much as I enjoyed doing and writing about it.  Hopefully it might inspire you to go out and try it for yourself!

Oh and if you want to share your zip lining experiences or other stories, please leave a comment!

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in About me, Friends, Travels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

