Txoko . . . Again and Again

So yeah, I went to Txoko again almost three weeks ago after performing at Pier 23 earlier that night.  This time I went with Derek who I haven’t seen in a while.  We went at about 10PM on a Friday which was kind of scary because I personally just don’t feel safe around the Broadway area at night.  Let’s just say that there are a lot of “interesting people” around that area.

Anyways, I had never been there on a Friday night and I found out that it was still really easy for me to get a seat.  I’ve never seen Txoko packed yet, so maybe I just never go at the right time or not enough people know about it yet.

Derek and I didn’t order much because we didn’t want to eat too much too late so he just ordered the Foie Gras ala Plancha.  It was very small so I didn’t get a bite.

Derek wanted to order this because he wanted to get his fix of foie gras because it becomes banned in California.  He said it was very rich and creamy and pretty much gone in two or three bites.

The first dish I ordered was the venison.  I can’t remember the veggies that came with it, but I thought that was pretty good.  I don’t think I’ve had venison (deer meat) more than twice in my life so I just wanted to give this one a try.  I thought it was cooked well.  I didn’t find it too gamey, but I do think it has a distinct flavor.  It was tender and came with a wine sauce that I thought was really strong.

My second dish was the glazed beef cheek with crispy sweetbreads.  This was the star of the night.  Just the smell alone lets you know that your tastebuds are going to explode. After having one bite of the beef cheek, I could not stop smiling.  I was in a very happy place.  The meat was so tender that you don’t need a knife to cut it into smaller pieces. Everything about it was amazing!

If you were wondering what the crispy sweetbreads were, you might be shocked to know that they are fried thymus glands.  I literally didn’t know that until Daniel told me what they were last Saturday.  The whole time I was under the impression that they were mini bread balls.  Since it was my first time eating thymus glands, I have to say that I wouldn’t mind trying them again . . . just as long as they are fried . . . and come from Txoko.

So that concludes a very short entry on my fourth amazing meal at Txoko.  And yes, I actually did skip dessert this time.  Shame on me . . . I guess I will just have to make up for it next time!

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Txoko . . . Again and Again

  1. Shiney says:

    Great food photos and blog! It seems you eat a lot of great meals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

