The Choco Cafe in Prague

This is a quick review on The Choco Cafe in Prague.

Before I left for Prague I did a lot of research on places I wanted to eat at. One of the places that topped my list was The Choco Cafe. I read about how good their hot chocolate was and how cozy the place was. Many people who reviewed the place said that they had gone back several times because they fell in love with it. I just had to check it out for myself after reading all of the good things about it.

We decided to go after visiting Prague Castle and crossing Charles Bridge. Since I was already getting familiar with the area, I found the place pretty easily. It was still really accessible to tourists walking along Karlova Street, but it was done another street where the buildings were more residential.

This is what the outside of the cafe looks like. I find it very cute and very inviting. After walking in, we were greeted and taken to a table right away. Since it was a cafe, I thought I would just order at a counter and wait for my drink like Starbucks, but it was more of a full service cafe. As I looked through the menu, I was amazed to see such a long list of different flavors. If I remember correctly, I think there were three different sections of hot chocolates. The first being the regular and coffee flavored ones where you could also add nuts, followed by fruit flavored hot chocolates, and lastly a section with hot chocolates with alcohol. Also on the menu was a selection of Bruschettas and other pastries and desserts. I was kind of hungry so I ordered the bruschetta with tomatoes, mozzarella, garlic, and arugula. I guess I was so hungry that I forgot to take a picture of it!

First we have mom’s strawberry hot chocolate. The serving size isn’t big, but I think it’s just enough because there is a whole lot of flavor in that cup. This was very good but it got too sweet too soon. That being said, mom didn’t finish her cup.

I knew I wanted a plain cup of hot chocolate so I went for that but decided to add almonds to it. I personally think I made the better choice by ordering the traditional flavor because the flavor of the chocolate didn’t have to compete with anything else. When the cup came to me, I thought that the whipped cream would be too much, but I actually really enjoyed it! I usually don’t like whipped cream, but this wasn’t too sweet. It was really good at reducing the sweetness of the hot chocolate and the almonds really added a lot of texture to the drink. They had some almonds sprinkled on top, but the mother load of nuts was found at the bottom of the glass. For those of you who may not have had hot chocolate in Europe before, it is not like what we have here in the U.S. Here it’s more watery and a lot of syrup is used. Also, the powdered versions don’t have that bold flavor. In Europe, their hot chocolate is more of a drinking chocolate. It is very thick and dense. Think of it as melted chocolate bars with hot milk. In a lot of places in Prague you can see that the hot chocolate is constantly being mixed so a film doesn’t form on the top.

Halfway through my drink I knew I was getting all chocolated out. That was kind of sad because I also wanted to try some of the desserts, but I had no more room in my stomach.  I highly recommend this place for any chocoholic for their wide variety of flavors as well as wall full of chocolate bars form around the world to buy. This is a nice cozy retreat for anyone who needs a break from the crowds in all of the touristy areas. They have a small play area for kids and free wi-fi for students who are trying to do their schoolwork. Also, it’s an inexpensive place to have a nice snack. A cup of hot chocolate will run you between 55-80 Czech Crowns ($2.50-4.00) depending on what you get. I will definitely come back whenever my journeys bring me back to Prague and to make sure I leave a decent tip this time. I felt so bad because I didn’t have enough small change so I just left the few small crowns that I got from my change.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food, Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Choco Cafe in Prague

  1. Beautiful pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

