Txoko x4

So yeah, I’m writing about Txoko again. I can’t help it because I always have something different every time I go there.

Mom and I had dinner around 6ish and the restaurant was pretty much empty so you don’t really need to make reservations.

This is the mural by Jeremy Fisch at one of the corners of the restaurant. It’s a bunch of animals at a dinner table eating animals. I think the live animals at the table are in an awkwardly funny situation. Maybe they are cannibals. In all seriousness, though, I think the mural represents what the definition of Txoko is, which is pretty much a club for people who like to eat.

This is a baguette and some olive oil with pepper.

One thing new I saw on the menu was crispy french fries with a garlic-mayonnaise dip.  This fries were perfectly crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I really loved how the fries were not oily. Also, there was a little cayenne pepper sprinkled on top which added a kick of spiciness to the fries and dip. I was surprised to see how big the serving was. We only ate about half of it because we wanted to save room for our actual meal, but mom unconsciously kept picking on them and said she just couldn’t stop!

I ordered the mushroom arroz again because it wasn’t on the menu the last time I went here. This time the arroz came with chevre, caramelized fennel, shitake and hen of the woods mushrooms. I love the mushroom arroz so much. It is very rich and thick so I would suggest getting a small order of it. We didn’t finish this one either so we took it home. I had it for dinner the next day and it was just as good, if not better.

My mom ordered the braised lamb shoulder. It again was very tender and juicy. What I was really surprised by was the lamb tongue. I forgot that it was in the dish and I ate it without thinking and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although I enjoyed what I had of it, my mom found it to be a little too rich for her.

For my entrée, I had the grilled venison leg. It came with a yam mash and a bed of mushrooms and veggies and, of course, crispy sweetbreads. I really loved this dish. It was a real standout. I usually don’t like yams, but this is the perfect mash. The venison was cooked perfectly. Some might think that it looks a little too rare, but that’s how I like my meat. As for the crispy sweetbreads, I fell in love with them the first time I had them during my last visit to Txoko and I honestly chose this dish just so I can have them. The only thing I would change about this dish is that I would have liked to have more sweetbreads.

 To end the night, I had the coffee pot de creme with milk ice cream and sugar cookies. Get the concept? Coffee with milk and sugar? I thought it was genius. I was a little afraid that the coffee would be too bitter for my liking, but our waitress convinced my otherwise. I went ahead and ordered it and I’m so glad I did. I really wanted the pot de creme because I wanted to see how it would compare to the chocolate pot de creme I had in Philadelphia a few years ago at Morimoto’s restaurant. They were both really good, but I would still prefer the chocolate at Morimoto. This is a very close second, though. It is merely my love for chocolate which defends my decision. As for the cookie, I could only eat one-and-a-half of them because it was too sugary for me. Biting into it was like biting compressed sugar. That caught me off guard because I was expecting a light butter cookie.

Overall, another very successful dinner at Txoko. I really don’t understand why this place is never crowded. Maybe I just don’t go on the right days, but this place really deserves a lot of recognition. This truly one of my favorite restaurants. For some reason, I’m willing to try a lot of new things here that I probably would never try at all. Again, like The House, this place never disappoints and always keeps my tastebuds very happy. As far as restaurants go, great one have consistency. Txoko has it.

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

