Chocolateria San Gines

 

I’m back!!! I know I’ve been neglecting this blog for about 10 months and now that I am on summer break, I hope I can get the ball rolling again and start catching up on posts that should have been up months ago.

To get back into things, I thought I would quickly share with you the thing I miss the most from my trip to Spain last January (“Quick Shots” post coming soon) which is chocolate con churros. One of the most famous places in Madrid to get your chocolate fix is Chocolateria San Gines located off of one of the streets at Puerta del Sol. This place was definitely on my “must-eat” list and Dawnee and I were not disappointed.

IMG_2096

IMG_2099I really enjoyed walking into the cafe and being greeted by the guys at the counter and checking out the pictures of all of the famous people who have stopped by to get their chocolate fix. It was a Sunday night so it was not very busy and if I remember correctly, it may have been around 10:00PM.

IMG_2102 IMG_2103Unlike churros here in the US, there were not covered with cinnamon sugar. They are just long pieces of fried dough the people dip into the rich and thick hot chocolate. My order came with six churros and I was just so excited. What I love is that the chocolate seeps in to the churro when you dip it so when you bite into the churro, you get a burst of hot chocolate and a crunchy, chewy, and creamy texture in your mouth. I’m drooling just thinking about it. Another thing to note is that the chocolate is really thick. The best way I can describe it is pretty much calling it a melted chocolate bar with a little bit of milk. If you let it sit too long, a film starts to form and you can literally rest your spoon on top of it. It’s really sexy when you finally penetrate the film with the churro and all of the chocolate just envelopes the fried dough and you bring the churro up to you mouth and chocolate just dribbles down your chin. Oh man, that how chocolate makes me feel.

Anyways, it’s getting late so I’m going to call it a night, but I’m really glad that I was able to put something up. You can definitely expect more posts on Spain because I had a great time there and ate amazing food. So keep an eye out because I would love to continue to share my adventures and interests with you!

 

 

About ajsrichantra

Simple things make me happy.
This entry was posted in Food, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment